Juno Award 2020 Nominees Announced

In an announcement made yesterday, the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (or CARAS) revealed its list of nominees, as well as who will be performing at the 2020 Juno Awards.

The 23-year-old first-time host Alessia Cara, is going to be centre stage at the SaskTel Centre on March 15th for the show as not only will she be hosting and performing, but she has also been nominated for the most Junos this year! From the “Juno Fan Choice Award” to “Artist of the Year,” she is also up for “Single of the Year”, “Album of the Year”, “Songwriter of the Year”, and “Pop Album of the Year”.

In addition to Cara you’ll find a number of beloved Canadian musicians will be hitting stage, including nominees Daniel Caeser, Lennon Stella, The Glorious Sons, Tory Lanez, and Jann Arden who was previously announced as this year’s Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee.

Here’s a sampling from the list of Nominees this year. For the complete list go to the official website at junoawards.ca

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year:
Brian Doerksen – The Heart of Christmas
Brooke Nicholls – Persue
Dan Bremnes – Wherever I Go
Fresh IE – ILL Street Blues
Matt Maher – The Advent Of Christmas

Juno Fan Choice Award:
Alessia Cara
Ali Gatie
Avril Lavigne
Justin Bieber
Loud Luxury
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd
Tory Lanez

Single of the Year:
Alessia Cara — Out of Love
Bülow — Sweet Little Lies
Lennon Stella — La Di Da
Scott Helman — Hang Ups
Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello — Señorita

Album of the Year:
Alessia Cara — The Pains of Growing
Alexandra Stréliski — Inscape
Bryan Adams — Shine a Light
Michael Bublé — Love
Nav — Bad Habits

International Album of the Year
Ariana Grande — Thank U, Next
Billie Eilish — When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?
Ed Sheeran —No. 6 Collaborations Project
Khalid — Free Spirit
Post Malone — Hollywood’s Bleeding

Artist of the Year
Alessia Cara
Bryan Adams
Jessie Reyez
Shawn Mendes
Tory Lanez

Group of the Year
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine
Loud Luxury
The Reklaws
Walk Off the Earth

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Alexandra Stréliski
Ali Gatie
Lennon Stella
Tenille Townes

Breakthrough Group of the Year
Hunter Brothers
Neon Dreams
Palaye Royale
The Blue Stones

Songwriter of the Year
Alessia Cara
Patrick Watson
Tenille Townes
Tim Baker

Country Album of the Year
Aaron Goodvin — V
Dallas Smith — The Fall
Dean Brody — Black Sheep
Hunter Brothers — State of Mind
Meghan Patrick — Wild as Me

Adult Alternative Album of the Year
City and Colour — A Pill for Loneliness
Half Moon Run — A Blemish in the Great Light
Iskwē — Acākosīk
Leonard Cohen — Thanks for the Dance
Patrick Watson — Wave

Alternative Album of the Year
Black Mountain — Destroyer
Foxwarren — Foxwarren
Mac DeMarco — Here Comes the Cowboy
Orville Peck — Pony
Pup — Morbid Stuff

Pop Album of the Year
Alessia Cara — The Pains of Growing
Avril Lavigne — Head Above Water
Bülow — Crystalline
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine — 8:47
Walk Off the Earth — Here We Go!

Music Video of the Year
Caraz — Bun Dem (Sarahmée)
Johnny Jansen — Record Shop (Said the Whale)
Jonathan Robert — Topographe (Corridor)
Le GED — Back Off (Laurence Nerbonne)
Sarah Legault — Little Star (Iskwē)

Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year
Celeigh Cardinal — Stories from a Downtown Apartment
Digawolf — Yellowstone
Nêhiyawak — Nipiy
Northern Haze — Siqinnaarut
Riit — Ataataga

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year
Bryan Adams — Shine a Light
Lauren Spencer-Smith — Unplugged Vol. 1
Marc Jordan — Both Sides
Nuela Charles — Melt
Renee Lamoureux — Empower

The 49th annual Juno Awards will take place on Sunday, March 15, 2020 at 8 p.m. (ET) and be broadcast live from the SaskTel Centre in Saskatoon.

Information from www.junoawards.ca

Posted in All Stories, Main Page, Richard Huskisson Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *