Election Results

The Municipal Election Results began rolling in last night and as of this morning it stands thusly; Lawmaker Kevin Davis is the City of Brantford’s new mayor, easily defeating incumbent Chris Friel with 12,867 votes or 52.93% of the vote compared to Friel’s 7,200 or 29.62%.


Yes, you read those numbers correctly; out of an elegible voters list of over 65 thousand only 24,477 votes were cast leaving us with a 36.74% voter turnout.


Regardless of the number of voters who went to the the polls the results continued to come in and some familiar faces will join incoming Mayor Kevin Davis around the council table.


In Ward One, incumbent Rick Weaver was returned for a second term while former Councillor Jan Vandersteldt returns to city council.


Incumbents John Utley and John Sless were releected in Ward Two.


In Ward Third, fiscal conservatives Dan McCreary and Greg Martin were easily re-elected to another term.


Richard Carpenter and Cheryl Antoski were re-elected in Ward Four.


And in Ward Five, incumbent Brian Van Tilborg is joined by newcomer Joshua Wall who edged out former councillor Mark Littell who was attempting a comeback.


The Grand Erie District School Board is also set with David Dean, Carol Ann Sloat, Greg Anderson and Susan Gibson who were elected in the city of Brantford.


Eva Dixon, Don Werden, Rita Collver and Christina Speers were elected to represent Brant-Haldimand-Norfolk on the Board.


Elected as trustees to the Brant-Haldimand-Norfolk Catholic District School Board were Rick Petrella, Bill Chopp, Dan Dignard, Carol Luciani, Cliff Casey and Mark Watson.


You can find more information on the results of the election at brantfordvotes.brantford.ca and www.brant.ca

Posted in All Stories, Main Page Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *